Shiv Sena bags key TMC Standing Committee Post

17th May, 2018

THANE : The ruling Shiv Sena on Wednesday bagged the key post of the standing committee chairperson following a last minute withdrawal by BJP nominee and NCP’s apparent boycott of the poll process.

Sena corporator Ram Repale, a close aide of guardian minister Eknath Shinde, was elected unopposed, after BJPs Narayan Pawar pulled out from the race. The five special committees have already been bagged by the Sena unopposed as no other party had fielded their candidates.

The formation of the standing committee in the civic body comes almost 15 months after the new panel of corporators was formed in 2017.

The names of the chairpersons of the five committees were also declared officially, which was single handedly swept clean by the Shiv Sena. The NCP claimed they will approach the Bombay high court against the election procedure.


Source :